Patriot League Announces 318 Male Student-Athletes in Athletics to Academic Honor Roll

CENTER VALLEY, Pennsylvania – The Patriot League’s nine men’s track and field programs combined to place 318 student-athletes on the 2019-20 Winter/Spring Academic Honor Roll when the League office announced the list Friday.

Bucknell recorded a League-high 54 winners on the Academic Honor Roll, with the Patriot League Indoor Champion Navy enrolling 46 student-athletes. Lehigh had 40 reps while Boston University finished with 39 and Lafayette placed 36 on the roster. Holy Cross (33), Army West Point (30) Colgate (23) and American (17) contributed to the final League tally.

All 10 members of the Academic All-Patriot League Indoor Track and Field made the honor roll, including Army West Point Benjamin Petrella, Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Army senior Michael Renard, Bucknell junior Ethan Dunne, Colgate senior Warren Carter, Lafayette senior Tyler Hubeny, Lehigh seniors Joe Kelly and Kyle Sult, Navy senior Jake Brophy and students sophomores Ashwin Briggs and Sean Casey all made the honor roll.

Twenty-six Patriot League male track and field student-athletes made the Academic Honor Roll for the fourth time, highlighted by Brophy, Hubeny, Petrella and Renard. The quadruple member club also includes USA senior Gerard D’Ambrosio III, Boston University senior Gregory Pelose, Bucknell seniors Sean Conway, David Kelly, Nick Pacelli, Jake Stupak and Matt Vira, Colgate seniors Warren Carter, Ryan Curran and Luke Myers, Holy Cross seniors Freddie Halloran, Chris Shakespeare and Jackson Skelley, Lafayette senior Eric Gourdon, Lehigh seniors Adam Freesman, Joseph Kelly, Jeffrey Kirshenbaum, Erik Metz, Ryan Paradise and Kyle Sult and seniors of Navy Dominic Franshaw and Hunter Wargo.

Patriot League Men’s Track and Field student-athletes with a GPA of 4.00 or better (60)
American: Seniors D’Ambrosio III, Mark Kopp, sophomore Yoshimune Satake, freshman Russell Sullivan.
Army West Point: Junior Tyrese Bender, sophomore Ryan Hogan, freshman Gregory Langone.
Boston University: Senior Jamin Harris, Junior Scotti Hamilton, sophomores Ebruba Gbemiye-Etta, Jackson Jeffrey, Aksel Laudon, Jack Reynolds, freshmen Alexander Block and Rylan Pettit.
Bucknell: Seniors Sean Conway, David Kelly, Steve Rizio, Jake Stupak, junior Dunne, Connor McMenamin, rookie Chris Bazela.
Colgate: Sophomores Dillon Aryeh, Shiv Jhanjee, Freshman Zach Williams.
The Holy Cross: Senior Chris Shakespeare, Freshmen Michael O’Brien, Andre Villarba.
LaFayette: Senior Hubeny, juniors Ryan Branch, Samuel Fishbein, Danny Hullihan, sophomores Brian Clayton, Dylan Drescher, Tim Larsen, freshmen Andrew Massaro, Bobby Oehrlein, Devin Rosmarin.
Lehigh: Graduate student Bartlomiej Bancewicz, seniors David Fletcher, Erik Metz, Ryan Paradise, Seth Slavin, junior Michael Nardelli, second Nicholas Wilson.
Marine: Senior Kevin Murray, Ian Myers and Tommy Reeder, Juniors Thomas Johnstone, Skyler Mason, Sophomores John Bowers, Briggs, Casey, Seth Hanson, Miguel Mathias, Freshmen Brett Brady, Diego Campos, Derek Gess, Jacob Lowe and Luke Termorshuizen.

To be eligible for the Patriot League’s Winter/Spring Academic Honor Roll, a student-athlete must earn a spring semester GPA of 3.20 and compete in one of the winter or spring semester championship sports. spring of the Patriot League.

For a complete list of male student-athletes in athletics on the Academic Honor Roll, CLICK HERE.


The Patriot League is in its fourth decade of academic and athletic achievement, continually demonstrating that student-athletes can excel both academically and athletically without sacrificing high standards. The Patriot League’s athletic success is achieved as its member institutions remain committed to its founding principle of admitting and graduating student-athletes who are academically representative of their class. Participation in athletics at Patriot League institutions is considered an important part of a well-rounded education.

Previous Arnold Schwarzenegger Expresses Frustration With America's Lack Of Patriotism: 'It Makes No Sense'
Next Access Entertainment acquires stake in RatPac Entertainment